The Dance in the Dark (Scarlet & Ivy #3)

Author(s): Sophie Cleverly

Middle Fiction

Scarlet and Ivy return to creepy Rookwood School for a third mystery adventure! Perfect for fans of MURDER MOST UNLADYLIKE. With their evil headmaster, Mr Bartholomew, safely out of the picture and kindly Mrs Knight in charge, it looks like life at Rookwood School is looking up. There's a ballet recital Scarlet is desperate to star in, and more clues to uncover about the twins' mother. But after their beloved ballet teacher Miss Finch suddenly disappears and strange Madame Zelda takes her place, freakish things start happening. Poison letters are circulating the school, and 'accidents' are plaguing the students. It seems that the girls are in danger once more... Is someone out for the ultimate revenge?


Product Information

Praise for the Scarlet and Ivy series: "I loved this book as it is a true page-turning, nail-biting mystery. The author has very cleverly hidden clues in the story and lets us solve the mystery as well. I read it in less than a day. It is gripping and keeps you begging for more." Guardian.com, children's reviews

Sophie Cleverly was born in Bath in 1989. She wrote her first story at the age of four, though it used no punctuation and was essentially one long sentence. Thankfully, things have improved somewhat since then, and she has earned a BA in Creative Writing and MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University. Now working as a full-time writer, Sophie lives with her partner in Wiltshire, where she has a house full of books and a garden full of crows. The books largely consist of fantasy and historical novels; many of them for children and young adults. You probably don't want to know what the crows consist of. The first title in the Scarlet and Ivy series is Sophie's debut novel, written after Ivy appeared in her head one day and demanded she told the twins' story.

General Fields

  • : 9780007589227
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • : Harper Element
  • : June 2016
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 352
  • : Paperback
  • : Sophie Cleverly