A Good Kind of Trouble

Author(s): Lisa Moore Ramée

Picture Books | Middle Fiction (8-12) | BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Colour) Voices

From debut author Lisa Moore Ram e comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Ren e Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

$34.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
3

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780062836687
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • : March 2019
  • : 1.17 Inches X 5.5 Inches X 8.25 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 368
  • : Hardback
  • : Lisa Moore Ramée