Princesses Wear Pants

Author(s): Savannah Guthrie

Picture Books

From Savannah Guthrie, the cohost of NBC's TODAY, and educator Allison Oppenheim comes an empowering fairy tale with a feminist spin. 
 
In the tradition of Not All Princesses Dress in Pink and The Princess in Black, Princesses Wear Pants follows the unflappable Princess Penelope Pineapple, who's not afraid to get dirty and knows how to get the job done while staying true to herself. Princess Penelope lives in a beautiful palace with a closet full of beautiful dresses. But being a princess is much, much bigger than beauty. In fact, every morning Princess Penelope runs right past her frilly dresses to choose from her beloved collection of pants!
 
What she wears each day depends on which job she has to do. Will she command the royal air force sporting her sequined flight suit? Will she find her zen in her yoga pants and favorite tee? Or will she work in the kingdom's vegetable garden with pocketed overalls to hold all of her tools?
Unfortunately for Princess Penelope, not everyone in the Pineapple Kingdom thinks pants are appropriate princess attire. When Lady Busyboots demands that Princess Penelope wear a gown to the annual Pineapple Ball, the young royal sneaks some signature pants on underneath. And thank goodness for that! Without Princess Penelope's courage--and style choices--she wouldn't have been able to save the royal cat, Miss Fussywiggles, from a harrowing spill. 
 
In their debut children's book, Savannah Guthrie and Allison Oppenheim team up for a savvy yet imaginative story that celebrates fashion and girl power. Perfect for fans of Nickelodeon's Nella the Princess Knight, Princesses Wear Pants challenges gender stereotypes in the name of individuality, showing girls that it's not how they look but what they do that matters.
 

$24.99(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Savannah Guthrie is the co-anchor of TODAY, as well as an attorney and legal analyst. She lives in New York City with her husband and two children. Connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. Allison Oppenheim is trained in clinical psychology and is a parent educator and mother of three. She lives in New York City. Eva Byrne is an artist who specializes in fashion illustration and children's books. She lives in the Irish countryside.

General Fields

  • : 9781419726033
  • : ABRAMS
  • : Abrams Books for Young Readers
  • : September 2017
  • : 26.70 cmmm X 21.60 cmmm X 2.50 cmmm
  • : United States
  • : September 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : full-colour illustrations throughout
  • : 32
  • : Eva Byrne
  • : Hardback
  • : Savannah Guthrie